Crime Victim Compensation

There are many costs to victims of crime. Help is available through the District Attorney's Office Victim Compensation Program

The crime Victim Compensation Act of Colorado was enacted on July 1, 1982, and has helped many victims of crime. The Fund comes from fines paid by convicted defendants. A victim of a compensatable crime may complete an application to be reviewed and approved or denied by the Victim Compensation Board. The Board consists of 3 area citizens who are appointed by the District Attorney. The maximum allowable award for reimbursable expenses is $20,000 per claim.


Guidelines for Applicants:

Time and Place of Crime: The crime must have been committed on or after July 1, 1982, in Archuleta, La Plata or San Juan County, Colorado.

Victim: The Applicant must be a victim or a dependent of a victim.

Police: The police must have been notified within 72 hours after the crime.

Victim Cooperation: The victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement officials including the DA's Office.

Victim's Conduct: The victim must not have been committing, assisting or attempting a crime at the time of injury. The victim must not have provoked or incited the injury.

Application: The claim must be filed within one year (6 months for property damage) from when the crime happened.

Insurance: If the victim has insurance, insurance benefits must be utilized before victim compensation funs can be awarded.

Some of these requirements may be waived for "good cause" or in the "interest of justice" by the Victim Compensation Board.


Losses that may be reimbursed:

  • Medical and dental expenses;
  • Mental health therapy;
  • Lost wages;
  • Burial expenses;
  • Replacement or repair of dentures, hearing aids, eye glasses and other medically necessary devices;
  • Homemaker and home health care services;
  • Loss of support;
  • Property: replacement of windows, doors and locks of a residential home damaged during the commission of a crime. Modifications to the residence to ensure victim safety may also be considered.


Emergency Awards:

This award is intended to cover expenses incurred by crime victims in meeting their immediate short-term needs. The Board will determine if undue hardship will result to the applicant if immediate payment is not met. The maximum allowable emergency award is $1,000.

Compensation does NOT over:

  • Loss of money or any personal property such as televisions, stereos, clothes, food or jewelry;
  • Damaged or stolen vehicles;
  • Pain and suffering;
  • Non-residential doors, locks and windows.


Please note:

  • An arrest or conviction does not have to be made in order to be eligible for funding; however, a compensable crime must have been reported to the police.
  • Processing and presenting your claim to the Board may take up to 60 days.
  • If you have questions or would like to apply for Victim Compensation, please call the Sixth Judicial District Attorney's Office at (970) 247-8850 or 1-800-835-8522.